Brief Course Details

Bachelor of Ayurvedic Medicine & Surgery (BAMS) is a graduate degree course in Ayurvedic system. This degree is awarded after the completion of 5 years and 6 month degree programme containing the 4 and 1/2 year academic session and one year internship programme with live practical. The term ‘Ayurveda’ stands for Science of life.

As per Ayurveda, the have human body has three kinds of dysfunctions or disorders – Kapha meaning Phlegm (water and earth), Pitta meaning Bile (fire & water) and Vata meaning Wind (Air and space).These dysfunctions or disorders are commonly called as the ‘Doshas’ in Ayurvedic terminology.

The BAMS course can be pursued after completing Class 12 with science subjects (Physics, Chemistry and Biology). Candidates are required to clear the NEET UG Exam (National Eligibility Cum Entrance Test) for admission to BAMS course.


BAMS course is designed to train students to get familiar with the concepts of Ayurveda and make use of these to treat patients. The course is divided into four sections of 1 years’ duration 1st professional- 1 year, 2 nd professional- 1 year, 3 rd professional- 1 year, 4 th professional- 1 year and 6 months . These sections are called as the 4 professional courses. The entire course contains modern anatomy, principles of medicine, physiology, social and preventive medicine, forensic medicine, principle of surgery, toxicology, ENT, pharmacology.

Placement Opportunities: Clinical trials, Healthcare community, Life science industries, Pharmaceutical industries, Education, Healthcare IT, Insurance, On duty doctor, Nursing home, Spa resort, Ayurvedic resort, Panchakarma ashram, etc

Job Positions: Lecturer, Scientist, Therapist, Category manager, Pharmacist, Medical representative, Ayurvedic doctor, etc.

  • BAMS Subjects
  • Sanskrit
  • Ashtanga Hridayam
  • Padartha Vigyan
  • Kriya Sharir
  • Rachana Sharir
  • Ayurveda Itihas
  • Charak Samhita
  • Dravyaguna Vigyan
  • Rasa Shastra
  • Roga Vigyan
  • Vyavhar Ayurved
  • Kayachikitsa
  • Shalya
  • Shalakya
  • Stri Roga
  • Prasuti Tantra
  • Panchkarma